In an effort to assist users in protecting their files and preventing other users
from using their accounts, Information Technology is instituting an automatic ‘timeout’ screensaver.
This means that if, after 20 minutes, there has been no activity at a specific
computer, a password protected screensaver will appear. You must then re-input
your user password to unlock it. This prevents users from accessing other users’ accounts
when they have forgotten to log themselves off. Should the screensaver activate,
no data will be lost, and once you re-input your password you can continue working.
We are currently in the process of implementing this and will not take action
until all users have been made aware. Instructional Computing will make an
announcement one week before auto logoffs are instituted.